Another New Year….

Don’t look so sad,
It’s not so bad you know.
It’s just another night,
That’s all it is.

First time I heard this, my love was in Japan, and I’d been trying to tell myself that this was just another night, and so what if I was alone. Surely he was thinking of me, missing me, too…..That was more years ago than I care to remember, but whenever I hear these words I’m right back there again. Music always does that to me.

It’s not the first,
It’s not the worst you know,
We’ve come through all the rest,
We’ll get through this.And we do, don’t we? No matter what the year that is ebbing away has been like–the best we’ve known, the worst–there is no way to freeze it so we can stay in that wonderful place, nor hasten it away a little faster. It comes in its own time, as they always do, no matter how we feel about it. 

We’ve made mistakes,
But we’ve made good friends too.
Remember all the nights we spent with them?

Oh! How I do remember those times; laughing over coffee or wine, firing lines from favorite plays or comedy routines at each other; walking in the snow on a starry night, dancing until the place closed down, whether a big party or just a couple of close friends having dinner together….I remember more than they would ever believe. 

And all our plans,
Who says they can’t come true?
Tonight’s another chance to start again.

I think that’s what I like best of all about the New Year. I am the eternal optimist, and I love new beginnings and fresh starts, a brand new journal and a beautiful blue pen. What will those pages hold? Why, that’s entirely up to me, isn’t it?

It’s just another New Year’s Eve,
Another night like all the rest.
It’s just another New Year’s Eve,
Let’s make it the best.
It’s just another New Year’s Eve,
It’s just another Auld Lang Syne,
But when we’re through this New Year
You’ll see, will be
Just fine.

Yes. Yes it will.

We’re not alone, we’ve got the world you know.
And it won’t let us down, just wait and see.
And we’ll grow old, but think how wise we’ll grow.
There’s more you know, it’s only New Year’s Eve.

It is impossible to feel bad about growing old. Looking at pictures of younger days, seeing a beauty I surely never knew or felt at the time, all I can think is it doesn’t matter that I don’t look like that now. All I can see are the friends  now frozen in time, those I have lost, lost much too soon. So there is the wisdom, as if I hear Julie and JoBeth telling me lately that life is short, don’t waste a moment. They’re right, aren’t they?

Yes. Yes they are.

It’s just another New Year’s Eve,
Another night like all the rest.
It’s just another New Year’s Eve,
Let’s make it the best.
It’s just another New Year’s Eve,
It’s just another Auld Lang Syne,
But when we’re through this New Year, you’ll see, will be
Just fine.

So, just as Christmas came for the Whos in Who-ville without presents, boxes or bags….the New Year came in this house without champagne, without loud music and rowdy friends, without music. It came in the faces of dear friends and little children, came with birthday cake and ice cream, puppy kisses and quiet thoughts and prayers. It came in the form of memories and prayers. It came in the form of renewed hope and new plans and dreams, old and new, in the form of poetry, in the silence when everyone slept but me.

Happy New Year, my friends. Here’s to us.

 

Leave a Reply

