A theme song for my life….

Someone asked me tonight if I had one. I’ve had several.  This one figures prominently in my novel, as it is the song that Cooper and Maggie danced to, just one dance, at the prom when he was a junior and she was a freshman.

Wildflower (by Skylark)

She’s faced the hardest times
you could imagine
and many times her eyes fought back the tears;
and when her youthful world 
was about to fall in,
each time her slender shoulders
bore the weight of all her fears,
and a sorrow no one hears
still rings in midnight silence 
in her ears…

Let her cry, for she’s a lady,
let her dream, for she’s a child–
let the rain fall down upon her
She’s a free and gentle flower, 
growing wild…

and if by chance I should hold her
let me hold her for a time,
but if allowed just one possession
I would pick her from the garden 
to be mine…

Be careful how you touch her, 
for she’ll awaken
and sleep’s the only freedom that she knows;
and when you walk into her eyes
you won’t believe–
the way she’s always paying
for a debt she never owes,
and a silent wind still blows
that only she can hear and so she goes…

Let her cry, for she’s a lady,
let her dream, for she’s a child–
let the rain fall down upon her
She’s a free and gentle flower, 
growing wild…… 

This was a one-hit wonder, but oh…the opening guitar chords are so haunting, and the lyric is so….me.

Not just Maggie.

Me.

There was another one, too, years later.  I still think of it, and the man who let me slip out of his life, whenever I wear a red dress.

Put on Your Red Dress (by Martin Page)

Over the railway lines
Under the bridge,
Where we met first time–
I’m coming across town
Walking to your house…

Yesterday weighs you down
O, lonely girl, won’t you come on out?
I swear it’ll be all right
On this holy night…

Put on your red dress, baby
And wear your smile,
Say goodnight to your sister
We’re gonna walk for miles–
We’ll go where the boats are leaving
In St. George’s Bay,
And when I look into your eyes
There’s one thing that I can say
‘No one loves you this way…’
So put on your red dress, baby,
And one more time–
Let me see you smile…

There’s the abandoned train
Where we sheltered from the rain,
Somehow, I knew someday
We’d come here again–

Put on your red dress, baby,
And wear your smile,
Say goodnight to your sister
We’re gonna walk for miles–
We’ll go where the boats are leaving
In St. George’s Bay
And when I look into your eyes
There’s one thing that I can say
‘No one loves you this way…’
So put on your red dress, baby,
And one more time
Let me see you smile…

Here on this empty road
We stare at ourselves
In a shop window
Funny we seem so right
On this holy night

So put on your red dress, baby,
And wear your smile,
Close the door right behind you
We’re gonna walk for miles–
We’ll go where the boats are leaving
In St. George’s Bay
And recall the tenderness
As we sit by the waterside;
O I can never forget
That I was the man who let you
Slip out of his life
So put on your red dress, baby,
And let me one more time
Make you smile tonight….

And, for a time….

It’s In the Way That You Use It  (by Eric Clapton)
It’s in the way that you use it,
It comes and it goes.
It’s in the way that you use it,
Boy don’t you know.

And if you lie you will lose it,
Feelings will show.
So don’t you ever abuse it,
Don’t let it go.

Nobody’s right till somebody’s wrong.
Nobody’s weak till somebody’s strong.
No one gets lucky till luck comes along.
Nobody’s lonely till somebody’s gone.

I’ve seen dark skies, never like this.
Walked on some thin ice, never like this.
I’ve told you white lies, never like this.
Looked into true eyes, never like this.

It’s in the way that you use it
Boy don’t you know
So don’t you abuse it
Man don’t let it go….

I think that was more about getting my feet back underneath me.

So was this.

Heal Me (by Melissa Etheridge)

Ain’t it crazy
For a moment there
This felt just like dying
But now I see that something inside
Is coming alive
Ain’t it crazy

No use running from a revolution
I just surrender to this evolution

Heal me lift me
Take me to the other side
Amazing grace
Has touched my face
And the sweet sound doesn’t lie

Ain’t it crazy
For a moment there
I just gave up trying
But now I see
You can let the light in
You can begin again
Ain’t it crazy
I lay me down in this sweet perfection
I am a witness to my resurrection

Heal me lift me
Take me to the waterside
Drop me in let me swim
Let everyone know
I’ll be coming home again

Make no mistake
I’m wide-awake
Ain’t it crazy

Heal me lift me
Take me to the other side
I’ll take what I’ve earned
These lessons I’ve learned
I’m ready for the ride
Heal me lift me
Take me and my soul will fly
My battered heart will make a new start
Let everyone know
I’ll be coming home again
Heal me lift me
Take me to the waterside
Drop me in
Come on and watch me swim
Let everyone know
I’ll be coming home again

Yeah, when I reached that point I was ready for new beginnings, and that led to this, on a beautiful October afternoon….

Grow Old With Me (by John Lennon)

Grow old along with me,
The best is yet to be;
When our time has come,
We will be as one;
God bless our love–
God bless our love.

Grow old along with me,
Two branches of one tree;
Face the setting sun,
When the day is done;
God bless our love–
God bless our love.

Spending our lives together,
Man and wife together;
World without end,
World without end….

Grow old along with me,
Whatever fate decrees,
We will see it through,
For our love is true;
God bless our love–
God bless our love.

Who’s to say what the next one will be, and why….

Leave a Reply

